Monthly Archives: November 2016

“Black” ipad apps – “Doing the Dance”

If you have an app that STAYS black [which means the iPad has made room for it, but has NOT downloaded and installed it], then MDS Tech might ask you to “do the dance”. Here are the steps:

  1. Double-click the home button. Swipe up on ALL the apps you have running.
  2. Hold down the power button on the top until the “Swipe to turn off” slider appears onscreen.
  3. Swipe the slider to turn it off.
  4. WAIT TEN INTERMINABLE MINUTES. While you are waiting, work on your homework…or ask someone what “interminable” means.
  5. Start your iPad up.
  6. Go to the black app.
  7. If it has the name of the app, click it. That should change to the word “Waiting”.
  8. Wait.
  9. Wait some more.
  10. Wait even longer.

Let MDS Tech know when the app installs.

You can also do this at home, as long as your iPad on is on wireless network.

Before turning in your busted iPad – things to do

If the iPad Guy has asked you to swap out your iPad, here is a list of things you need to do on your OLD iPad before turning it in.

If you can’t – because the screen is too damaged, etc. – then it’s possible you MIGHT lose some data. At the very least the process will be more inconvenient [as opposed to catastrophic].

  • Settings –> iCloud –> Backup. “BACKUP NOW”. Wait for it to complete – it will take a while.
  • Notability –> Settings [gear icon on the front screen]. Make SURE AutoUpdate is turned ON.
  • Drive –> Look inside the notability folder, make sure your latest notability stuff is there. Look inside the “Google Photos” folder – make sure your pix are there. If they aren’t, then manually copy them up to that folder [Plus icon, bottom right, select Photos album, click on the pictures that are missing, click the Blue Checkmark  to start the upload.]

Once this is done we can start working on your replacement iPad.

Move Pix/Vids from Drive to iPad

Sometimes you need to move a picture or video that you’ve stashed in Drive, so you can use in on your iPad [in iMovie, for example].

Here’s how:

  • Open up Drive and naviagate to the picture or video you want to use.
  • Click on it – it should open up so you can view it
  • Hold your finger on it. A window should popup that will give you the option to save it to your Photo Album.

From there you can import into iMovie, Textilus, etc.

 

So what happens when you copy the photo from Drive to your Photos, and then Drive copies all your Photos back up to Drive because of the setting. Do you get 2 copies of the photo? Hmmmm……….