Science iPads App List

A list of apps on the two Science Dept. iPad sets. #1 is in McMahon’s room, #2 in Freeman’s. The descriptions are deliberately concise – click the links to see a longer description [usually full of many gratuitous exclamation points]


APP NAME

WHICH SET

URL

DESCRIPTION
Adobe Reader Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/adobe-reader/id469337564?mt=8&term=Adobe%20Reader&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 PDF reader – sometimes works better than others.
Calculator Pro Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/calculator-for-ipad-free/id398129933?mt=8&term=Calculator%20Pro&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Calculator
Chrome Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/chrome-browser-by-google/id535886823?mt=8&term=Chrome&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Web browser
Earth Viewer 1 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/earthviewer/id590208430?mt=8&term=Earth%20Viewer&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Timeline viewer of the tectonic plates shifts over time.
EduCam 2 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/educam-classroom-viewer/id555757171?mt=8&term=EduCam&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Annotate and share live streaming images from the Ken-a-vision camera
Educreations Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/educreations-interactive-whiteboard/id478617061?mt=8&term=Educreations&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 nteractive recordable whiteboard. includes voice recording. Could email it to yourself and post the resulting file to moodle.
Evernote 2 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/evernote/id281796108?mt=8&term=Evernote&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Organizer utility, assuming you have an Evernote Account.
Focus on Earthquakes 1 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/focus-on-earthquakes/id508040750?mt=8&term=Focus%20on%20Earthquakes&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Comprehensive description, new-meida text. Includes quizzes and review questions.
Fold and Faults 1 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/folds-and-faults-hd/id424334376?mt=8&term=Fold%20and%20Faults&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 illustrated overview of these two concepts
GoodReader for Ipad 1 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/goodreader-for-ipad/id363448914?mt=8&term=GoodReader%20for%20Ipad&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 A “super-robust” PDF readr for iPad
Google Earth Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/google-earth/id293622097?mt=8&term=Google%20Earth&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Click the link for some interesting possibilities.
Human Body Facts Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/human-body-facts-1000/id427485285?mt=8&term=Human%20Body%20Facts&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 “odd, weird, fun human body facts”. Enough said.
iBooks Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/ibooks/id364709193?mt=8&term=iBooks&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 PDF and ePub reader. Can open files sent via email, posted online, etc.
Idea Flight Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/idea-flight/id427659445?mt=8&term=Idea%20Flight&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Share PDF based presentations to an audience.
idea Sketch Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/idea-sketch/id367246522?mt=8&term=idea%20Sketch&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Draw a diagram, convert it to text, share it.
iMovie 2 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/imovie/id377298193?mt=8&term=iMovie&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Video creation, editing
Intellective Physics Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/intellective-physics/id411714645?mt=8&term=Intellective%20Physics&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 AP/SAT prep – whiteboard lectures, quizzes, etc.
ISSLive Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/isslive/id502032954?mt=8&term=ISSLive&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Live data feeds from the international Space Station – plus tours and such
iTunes U Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/itunes-u/id490217893?mt=8&term=iTunes%20U&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Gives access to free courses in a variety of subjects
Khan Academy Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/khan-academy/id469863705?mt=8&term=Khan%20Academy&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 4200+ videos on a variety of topics
Meraki Both An MDS network thing.
Merriam Webster Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/merriam-webster-dictionary/id438477986?mt=8&term=Merriam%20Webster&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Dictionary.
MyScript Calculator Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/myscript-calculator/id578979413?mt=8&term=MyScript%20Calculator&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Converts handwriting into equations, then solves them.
NASA apps Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/store?term=NASA&mediaType=8&genreId= Click the link for details – several Nasa apps including, including NASA TV, details on missions, “Earth As Art”, photos, etc.
Notability Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/notability/id360593530?mt=8&term=Notability&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Note-taking app – can include video, audio, pix, pdf, etc.
Nova Elements Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/nova-elements/id512772649?mt=8&term=Nova%20Elements&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 PBS Nova exploration of the periodic table.
Photon Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/photon-flash-browser-for-kids/id605040858?mt=8&term=Photon&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Web Browser for use with Flash site. Email tech to get a site whitelisted before trying to use it. NOTE: Have to click the Lightning Icon to crank up the Flash part of a website.
PhysicalSci Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/physicalsci/id510133269?mt=8&term=PhysicalSci&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Interactive glossary of physical science terms
Physics – Science I 1
Puzzling plates 1 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/puzzling-plates/id486435632?mt=8&term=Puzzling%20plates&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Interactive exploration of Tectonic plates.
QR reader Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/qr-reader-for-ipad/id426170776?mt=8&term=QR%20reader&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 A QR code reader
QuakeFeed Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/quakefeed-earthquake-map-alerts/id403037266?mt=8&term=QuakeFeed&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Curated earthquake news, maps – several choices for newsfeeds
Quakes Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/quakes-earthquake-notifications/id327046574?mt=8&term=Quakes&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Get notifications of quakes and access to seismographs from earthquake.gov
Quick Graph Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/quick-graph-your-scientific/id292412367?mt=8&term=Quick%20Graph&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Graphing Calculator
Scan Both A QR code scanner
Science360 Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/science360-for-ipad/id439928181?mt=8&term=Science360&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 NSF app – images and videos from all sorts of sources [legit].
Show of Hands Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/show-of-hands/id336442597?mt=8&term=Show%20of%20Hands&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 realtime anonymous polling tool – looks like surveys are national in nature
Student Clicker Socrative Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/student-clicker-socrative/id477618130?mt=8&term=Student%20Clicker%20%20Socrative&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Used with Teacher Clicker – Socrative [FREE]. You setup quizzes/surveys/etc, they answer them.
The Chemical Touch – Lite Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/chemical-touch-lite-edition/id300111574?mt=8&term=The%20Chemical%20Touch%20-%20Lite&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Interactive Periodic Table
Vernier Graphical Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/vernier-graphical-analysis/id522996341?mt=8&term=Vernier%20Graphical&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Used with the Labquest hardware
Vernier Video Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/vernier-video-physics/id389784247?mt=8&term=Vernier%20Video&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Used with the Labquest hardware
Voice Record Pro 1 https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/voice-record-pro/id546983235?mt=8&term=Voice%20Record%20Pro&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 Audio recorder – can save file to Google Drive, or email.
Xperica Both https://volume.itunes.apple.com/us/app/xperica-hd/id417221081?mt=8&term=Xperica&ign-mpt=uo%3D4 View and interact with science experiments
QR Code - Take this post Mobile!
Link to this post - use for sharing!